Bin 1 vs Bin 2 for ASI294MM pro ZWO ASI294MM Pro Images · Amrinder Singh · ... · 49 · 2409 · 28

This topic contains a poll.
What binning you use most with your ASI294MM pro
Bin 1x1
Bin 2x2
Palamrinder 1.20
·  2 likes
Hi All
I just wanted to see what everyone's experience has been with different binning options available on ASI294mm. I'm new to astrophotography and read few  discussions online but it's hard to know the benefits specifically for ASI294mm which was primarily designed to use 2x2 mode. I've been primarily using Bin 1 but given the file sizes integrations have been painfully slow. I recently tried Bin 2 and was impressed with the processing speed and trying to understand what I am missing out by not using Bin 1 mode. I understand the resolution part and thinking of using Bin 1 for 100-200mm wide angle shots and Bin 2 for longer focal lengths (800mm). Would love to hear what others have to share on this.
LV426 1.20
·  4 likes
I am using bin1 with my 80mm refractor at 384mm FL so I can have camera resolution of 1.25"/px. Otherwise I wind up with 2.5"/pix which is WAY undersampled. It has worked out pretty well I think. On the other hand, I am using bin2 with my 860mm FL refractor to get 1.11"/px. I really like this combination and is why I got this camera. It just works out that the Jekyll/Hyde nature of the camera is like having two for the price of one. I do have to change the gain to 0 when using bin1 and 120 when using bin2 to optimize noise. File sizes are obnoxious. I have 32GB ram and am thinking about moving up to 64 to handle it better.
Astrobird 10.16
I must admit that by now I don't worry about oversampling (too many pixels for the object) and undersampling (too few pixels for the object).

I always record with bin 1. When processing images with StarTools, I usually reduce to bin 2 by software. From the result, it makes no difference, because even in the ASI 294, the pixels are probably only calculated together.