2" filters necessary for APS-C? Takahashi Epsilon-130D · Dan · ... · 23 · 1168 · 3

Eteocles 2.71
· 
·  1 like
Hi all,

I'm curious to hear if anyone has successfully used 36mm filters for an APS-C sensor.  I would like to upgrade to Astronomik MaxFR filters but I'd like to avoid shucking out $1300-1900 for the 2" filters if I can.
Andonie16 3.01
· 
I have not used it with 36mm, but a 2" one that I think is equivalent to 42mm.
And thinking logically, you could use it without a problem, but you would have 2 cons. There would be more vignetting, and less light would enter. This depends on how much difference there is in mm the filter with the lens.
jewzaam 3.01
· 
·  3 likes
Yes, 36mm filters work with APS-C.  I use 36mm filters with my ASI2600MM Pro, APS-C.
Jeff_Reitzel 1.51
· 
·  1 like
They absolutely work. I have been using 36mm filters with my QHY268M for a couple years now without issue. I guess you could have an issue if you have a configuration that puts the filters farther in front of the sensor than most common filter wheels do. I don't see any vignetting in my setup. 
CS 
Jeff
Edited ...
Starman609 6.45
· 
·  1 like
I also use 36mm filters with my ZWO 2600MM. No problems, just make sure you put the filter wheel next to the camera.
Edited ...
jewzaam 3.01
· 
Good points on filter position.  I have my EFW bolted to the camera and the ZWO OAG-L bolted to that.  Add a 0.6mm shim and it's all set (my filters are 2mm thick).
ThierryBoufflet 0.00
· 
I'm using 36mm filters with APS-C IMX571 camera with no problem of vigneting.
astrospaceguide 2.41
· 
It also depends on scope speed...  and your mounting distance from sensor to filter.

What may work for one may not work for another.

The maxFR filters are awesome by the way.
Eteocles 2.71
· 
Josh Jones:
It also depends on scope speed...  and your mounting distance from sensor to filter.

What may work for one may not work for another.

The maxFR filters are awesome by the way.