Skywatcher quattro 10" on Sky-Watcher EQ6-R Pro. Who's doing that? Sky-Watcher Quattro 250P · Michael W. Dean · ... · 26 · 632 · 4

BipTunia 1.81
· 
·  1 like
I know that with a camera, guide scope, coma corrector, focuser, adapters, etc it's close to the 20 kilo / 44 pound weight capacity limit for visual, and above the 3/4 of the capacity that you're supposed to do for astrophotography. 

Yet I see a bunch of people here doing it, and getting great photos. 

Ever have issues using it for astrophotography? Have any tips? 

I have enough counterweights and the counterweight extender, and can balance it well. 

I've got a poured concrete floor in a roll-off roof observatory. I've been using that mount with lighter scopes for about 18 months with good results. Just got the 10 inch Quattro. Have it set up but still waiting on a few things, plus cloudy skies, haven't had a chance to use it. But I'm wondering if I should have gotten the 8 inch model instead. 

Any input welcome from people running both (or running an similarly big heavy scope on this mount.)

Thank you.
Edited ...
Reg_00 8.52
· 
·  2 likes
You can't just consider the weight of the payload. You also have to consider the size of the payload. Larger scopes create more momentum when they move making them heavier than their dead weight. That being said, with no wind the eq6 will guide pretty good but it wont take much more than a breeze before you start losing subs because your image scale will not be very forgiving. Speaking from experience, I current have a 10" on a CEM70 and will be upgrading it asap. If you have decent wind protection it would work but you would still be exceeding the mounts intended payload capacity.
siovene
· 
·  1 like
A lot of people have this combination, and actually the EQ6-R Pro is the most used mount with that telescope on AstroBin:

Screen Shot 2024-02-21 at 16.34.44.jpgScreen Shot 2024-02-21 at 16.35.01.jpg