RST 135 Rainbow Astro RST-135 · Chris White- Overcast Observatory · ... · 43 · 918 · 2

Overcast_Observatory 20.43
· 
I've been considering a strainwave mount for several months now but there are aspects of the offerings from pegasus, ioptron and zwo that keep me from pulling that trigger. 

I'm looking at Rainbow rst135 (non encoder) now. My big hesitation is that there is no brake if power is lost. Has anyone had a pier crash because of something like this?

With the 3 less expensive companies entering the market, used prices of rst135 are really low, which has some appeal. 

Additionally, how do people like theirs?
· 
Oh, and I'm looking to use this with a refractor. 550mm FL. With all my gear it comes in at 26lbs. 

I also have an epsilon 160ed. Weight is about the same but it's a much bigger setup with more moment. 

I would be guiding.
· 
·  1 like
And finally, I'm a pixel peeper. So eccentricity at 0.45 or less is important to me. My seeing is average.
Edited ...
Supro 3.81
· 
·  1 like
Hi Chris, I put some time into this question a while back. (searching for a similar mobile mount that I can use with the smaller refractors)

I've owned a few different mounts and the one I've been most happy with is the HEM44EC. The EC for ioptron mounts is fairly modest compared to the likes of SB, AP, or 10micron, but they do seem to allow for better overall guiding. The carbon tripod from them is solid (compared to the NYX-101), but you'll likely need the pier extender for anything decent size.I was tempted by the RST and also looked at the Hobym. I just couldn't find consistently good feedback on them. (can't find much on the ioptrons either)

I've mostly run it with a FRA400 or Redcat71 to date. With a 7xEFW, asi6200, and Guidescope, etc it comes in around 20-25 lbs. On good seeing night I can get around .5"-.7" rms. On more average night it's around .8" 

I haven't tried it on my Epsilon 160 yet though. (i keep that on my larger mount)