Strange artifact in a professional observatory. Anyone know what can it be? FLI PL16803 · Tomás Andonie · ... · 7 · 734 · 1

Andonie16 3.01
· 
Hello good afternoon to everyone.

I am writing to you since this exceeds my amateur knowledge of astrophotography.

In summary, I am studying astrophysics in Chile, and my university has an observatory in the north which we can use remotely. The main telescope we use has the following elements:
  • Optics: Officina Stellare RC500
  • Diameter: 500mm
  • Focal: 6000mm
  • Optical Configuration: Ritchey Chretien
  • Mount: Astrophysics El Capitan AP3600
  • FLI PRoline 16803 camera
  • Filters: Sloan u’ g’ r’ i’, Johnson-Cousins B V R I

I have had good shots, but others not so much, and I have begun to discover a pattern in them, an artifact. And it is the next light that appears in the corner of the frame in all shots.
I show you in the photo what it looks like in 3 different filters, and how it looks when stacking the photos. (in the upper right corner it is clearly visible)

Sin título-1.png

At first, I thought it might be amp-glow. but I think I'll rule it out since this looks different.
and I could also rule out that it is an external light, since no matter where the telescope is pointed, it is always in the same place in the frame.
What do you think it could be? Maybe there is some element, like the filter holder that is somewhat broken, and some light is leaking through there?

I'm trying to find an answer to this, because if it's something I can solve remotely, great! But if some equipment must be replaced, repaired, etc., then it is something more complex that requires some clear evidence of the problem. Since it is a remote observatory, and it is managed by another company external to the university.

I hope someone knows about the issue and can help me. In advance, thank you very much.
Edited ...
smcx 2.71
· 
Light leak rather than off axis reflection?
andreatax 7.90
· 
·  1 like