Camera 800$ [Solar System] Acquisition techniques · The_shapley_supercluster · ... · 4 · 302 · 0

The_shapley_supercluster 0.00
· 
Good morning
I am a beginner in astrophotography. I own an Askar FRA400 telescope and an AZ-EQ5 mount. I am now thinking of buying a DSLR at a price of around 800$. What camera would be suitable for this set up? 
I would prefer a typical camera that would also be suitable for ordinary photos.
Tapfret 4.95
· 
·  2 likes
That is a nice scope/mount setup. As someone who started with the DSLR route, I would honestly suggest that you not try to crossover your astro/daytime gear. Knowing what I know now, with that budget I would go with a ZWO ASI183MC Pro, or even save for something even higher end. I feel like I spent a lot more than I needed to trying to avoid jumping right into a dedicated astro camera. And I spent a ton on lenses as well. You have a pretty sweet scope that you will get much more out of with a dedicated astrophotography camera. Long exposures heat up the sensor and add noise. A pro version ZWO has a cooled sensor.

That being said, even with a DSLR you will miss quite a bit if you don't get the IR cut filter removed. That makes it sub-optimal for day time photography.  I started with a Canon EOS R. It is unmodified and I didn't feel comfortable sending it off, so I found a used EOS 77D and got it modified. Ended up about $600. 77D is basically the 80D sensor in a Rebel body, which has a weight advantage. With your mount the added weight of the 80D would not be a problem, and you will have the added durability. You should be able to find a used one on ebay and get it modified for right around your budget.

But again, if I had to do it all over again, I would just go with the cooled dedicated astro camera.
Edited ...
andreatax 7.90
·