How long an exposure with monochrome CMOS cameras? Why does 300sec seem to be the standard? [Deep Sky] Acquisition techniques · Steve Mandel · ... · 6 · 467 · 2

smandel 3.24
· 
·  1 like
It seems like most folks are using 5 minute exposures when shooting with LRGB or Ha OIII SII filters.  Why is that?  Why not use 10 or 20 minute exposures? Please educate me, I'm new to CMOS!
dkamen 6.89
· 
·  3 likes
CMOS tends to have lower read noise and  higher dark current than CCD so it makes sense to use relatively shorter subs.

Of course it all depends on the exact circumstances. Even 5 minutes could be a lot for LRGB (especially L) in the presence of high light pollution or bright stars. I don't  think there is a standard.
Edited ...
Stefek 1.81
· 
·  3 likes
With CMOS cameras read noise is very low and you do not need long exposures to swamp it. 4 or 5 minutes is usually long enough . This is a kind of diminishing return point for narrowband, for LRGB even shorter. With shorter exposures, the demand on guiding is less strict,  satellite , airplane ,... trails are removed easier, cloud passing or wind gust does not destroy 20 minutes, it destroys only 5 or 10.  Of course, the price you pay is high number of files, requiring disk space and computing power to stack. If your guiding is perfect, the weather is perfect , you have excellent dark frames library , nothing stops you to take long exposures. Of course you have to be extremely careful not to "burn" stars  and intense object, as that happens with much shorter exposures than for example with CCDs
Edited ...
richard_ 1.20
· 
·  4 likes