678MC or 224MC for Edge 8 HD ZWO ASI678MC · Scott Chambers · ... · 7 · 340 · 0

Scottchambers24 0.00
· 
Hello all.  Later this summer I plan to purchase a planetary setup (with the goal of deep space imaging later on - that is why I am going with the EDGE) and I want to get the right setup.  I know about the pixel size x 5 rule.  So for the 678MC it would be 2x5 = 10 which would match the F/10 ratio of the Edge 8.  What happens when I throw a 2x Barlow on it for better magnification?  Does it distort the image or something running at F/20?  I am new to planetary so I don't really understand how the math matters.  As I look at the images on astrobin the 678MC has a lot cleaner images than the 224MC with more detail (probably because the pixel size is so small).  But I am wondering if the larger pixel size of the 224MC would be a better match if I want to use a Barlow.  Any help would be appreciated.

Scott
andreatax 7.56
· 
·  2 likes
Makes no difference. The main factor, apart from quality optics and collimation, is the seeing. In my very long experience I'd say the 224 fares at the top in terms of quality images produced. The 678 is a very good camera as well, at least on paper. Any quality barlow will not degrade the image at all.
aabosarah 6.96
· 
·  2 likes
Seeing is the main limiting factor. The formula you cited seems to be optimal for typical seeing conditions. If you use a barlow to go up to f/20 with 678 and your seeing does not support it, you will be introducing more noise for no additional benefit. But if your seeing is above average or exceptional, it may help your image achieve better details. 

The 678 is a convenient camera for SCTs because under most circumstances, you can use it natively and achieve the maximum details from your optics without a barlow for most seeing conditions.
GiffS 1.51
· 
With the 678 there’s little to be gained resolution wise from a Barlow unless as Ashraf points out you have exceptional seeing.
EVRE 0.00
·